About Me

Scroll to learn more

My name is Aaron Krauss. I’m a Full Stack developer based out of Edmond, Oklahoma (near Oklahoma City). I was born in Germany in 1990, grew up in a German culture for 6 years, and still speak moderately fluent German. I currently work at Clevyr as a senior web developer, and engage in miscellaneous development on my own time.

Background

I have been coding since I was 14 in my first high school programming class, and I’ve become a major polyglot programmer since then. Starting with Visual Basic (anyone remember that?), I then went on to learn Java, C, C++, HTML, CSS, VB.NET, C#, Javascript, SQL, NoSQL DBs, Ruby, Python, PHP, Shell, Git, Io, Prolog…. The list could go on and on.

I’ve gotten to work on some pretty cool things in my past, such as a Lego Mindstorm robotics project, a Term Frequency/Inverse Document Frequency search engine, interactive web forms for the FAA, and that was all just while in college. I’ve learned a ton more since then.

My background is that of a back-end developer, specializing in object-oriented programming in both software and web development. I prefer to program in a Unix-based environment, utilizing the terminal heavily for everything. My main skills here are Ruby/Rails, PHP, Python, SQL, NoSQL, APIs, Node.js, Angular.js, Ember.js, and a little bit of Go.

Recently I’ve been doing a lot of full-stack development, getting my hands dirty with a bunch of HTML5, Sass, Javascript, Grunt.js, CMSs like Wordpress, ModX, and Craft, and some enterprise web app development using Rails and Angular. I use Foundation and Bootstrap when I need to, but I usually opt to build completely custom styles using just a tiny sass plugin to provide a grid. Check out my projects to see what I’ve been working on, or you can hire me if you have a cool project and need a remote developer!

My Interests

I love tea. Not your everyday grocery store tea though. I purchase my tea from a special vendor with direct tea farmer relationships so that I can know exactly what province it was plucked in, and what month it was plucked. Sound intense? It is.

I love walking my dog. I find it super relaxing, I get to experience raw sunlight (something us developers don’t do often enough) and I’m giving both me and my dog exercise. Plus, I get to listen to a lot of podcasts, which leads me to...

I love podcasts. I’m currently subscribed to several podcasts, updating regularly anywhere from daily to a few times a year, and I usually knock them all out. My favorites are those where I can walk away thinking I gained a chunk of tangible knowledge that I didn’t have before. HowStuffWorks is easily my favorite network of podcasts.

I love beer. I love experiencing all the different kinds of beer, with more malty types such as stouts, bocks, brown ales, and scotch ales being my favorites; I even made my own beer chart to categorize all the different beer types. I was born in Germany, so maybe it stems from that a little bit. You’ll never see me go to a bar and order a bottle. It has to be on tap. My friends call me a beer snob, but I just don’t want to appreciate it unless it’s in its finest form.

I love Layla. We have been dating for over 9 years, and it’s been nothing but bliss. She's the coolest, most down-to-earth person I've ever met, and it's so awesome to be the lucky guy who gets to have her. I couldn’t imagine a life without her, and hanging out with her – doing anything – is always my favorite thing to do. I love her. She’s an incredibly talented cake decorator too!

Fin

That's it!